SCHEDULE OF APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES/PANELS AND APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

PART (A) STANDING COMMITTEES/PANELS

Notes

- 1. Members not re-appointed to the Authority are shown in **bold**, **italics**. Newly appointed Members to the Authority are shown in **bold**.
- 2. Changes in committee places reflect the change in political balance resulting from appointments made by Plymouth City Council and Torbay Council which resulted in two Conservative places going to Labour and two Independent places going to the Liberal Democrats

AUDIT & PERFORMANCE REVIEW COMMITTEE

7 Members in total

2018-19 Membership	Indicative 2019-20 Membership	
Conservative	Conservative	
Lynda Bower	Peter Clayton	
Peter Clayton	Mark Healey MBE	
Mark Healey MBE (Chair)	Terry Napper	
John Mathews	Percy Prowse	
Terry Napper (Vice-Chair)	Andrew Saywell	
Andrew Saywell		
Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats	
	Nick Way	
Labour	Labour	
George Wheeler	George Wheeler	

CHIEF FIRE OFFICER'S APPRAISALS PANEL

4 Members in total (NOTE: when establishing this Panel at its meeting on 18 December 2017 [Minute DSFRA/51 refers], the Authority resolved that it should comprise four Members - the Authority Chair, one Member from each of the other two main political parties and a fourth Member)

2018-19 Membership	Indicative 2019-20 Membership
Conservative	Conservative
Sara Randall Johnson (Chair)	Sara Randall Johnson (Chair)
Linda Vijeh	Linda Vijeh
Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats
Mike Best	Mike Best
Labour	Labour
Rob Hannaford	Rob Hannaford

COMMUNITY SAFETY & CORPORATE PLANNING COMMITTEE

7 Members in total

2018-19 Membership	Indicative 2019-20 Membership
Conservative	Conservative
Polly Colthorpe	Polly Colthorpe
Andrew Eastman (Vice-Chair)	Andrew Eastman
Percy Prowse	Ray Radford
Ray Radford	Jeffrey Trail BEM
Jeffrey Trail BEM	
Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats
	lan Doggett
Labour	Labour
Leigh Redman (Chair)	Pam Buchan
	Leigh Redman
Independent	Independent
Vic Ellery	

HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGEMENT & DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

7 Members in total

2018-19 Membership	Indicative 2019-20 Membership	
Conservative	Conservative*	
Ann Bown (Chair)	Ann Bown*	
Peter Clayton	Peter Clayton*	
Ron Peart	Ron Peart*	
David Thomas	David Thomas*	
Linda Vijeh (Vice Chair)	Linda Vijeh*	
Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats	
Mike Best	Mike Best	
Labour	Labour	
Rob Hannaford	Rob Hannaford	
	George Wheeler	

^{&#}x27;*' Note: One Conservative place on this committee needs to be given up to provide Labour with its second additional place (the first additional place came from a Devon Conservative place on CS&CP Committee). No agreement was reached on this point at the Members' Forum meeting on 24 May or from subsequent discussion with individual Members.

INDEPENDENT DISPUTES RESOLUTION PANEL

3 Members in total (to be selected from Membership of the Human Resources Management & Development Committee)

2018-19 Membership	Indicative 2019-20 Membership
Conservative	Conservative
Ann Bown	
Peter Clayton	
Labour	Labour
Rob Hannaford	
Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats

NOTE: the Human Resources Management & Development Committee to review membership for the remainder of the 2019-20 municipal year at its meeting scheduled for 10 July 2019).

RESOURCES COMMITTEE

7 Members in total

2018-19 Membership	Indicative 2019-20 Membership
Conservative	Conservative
Jonathan Drean (Vice-Chair)	Jonathan Drean (Vice-Chair)
Ron Peart	Ron Peart
Ray Radford	Ray Radford
	Jeremy Yabsley
Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats
Simon Coles (Chair)	Simon Coles
Gordon Hook	
Labour	Labour
Neil Hendy	Chaz Singh
Independent	Independent
Frank Biederman	Frank Biederman

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

7 Members in total

2018-19 Membership	Indicative 2019-20 Membership	
Conservative	Conservative	
Ann Bown	Ann Bown	
Jonathan Drean	Jonathan Drean	
Percy Prowse	Percy Prowse	
David Thomas (Chair)	David Thomas	
Jeffrey Trail BEM	Jeffrey Trail BEM	
Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats	
	Nick Way	
Labour	Labour	
Leigh Redman	Leigh Redman	
Independent	Independent	
Vic Ellery (Vice-Chair)		

MEMBER APPOINTMENT TO LOCAL PENSIONS BOARD1

Councillor (2018-19 appointment: George Wheeler)

EQUALITY AND DIVERSITY MEMBER CHAMPION

One appointment Councillor (2018-19 appointment: Leigh Redman.

CLIMATE CHANGE AND SUSTAINABILITY MEMBER CHAMPION

One appointment Councillor (2018-19 appointment: Peter Clayton).

_

¹ This Board was established in accordance with Regulations to assist the Authority (as Scheme Manager) in ensuring the efficient and effective governance of the statutory Firefighters Pensions Schemes.

PART (B) APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION (LGA)

(a) Fire Commission

Two appointments – usually Authority Chair and one other (2018-19 appointment - Chair and Councillor Coles).

(Provisional dates of meetings in 2019-20: Friday 20 September 2019, Friday 15 May 2020)

(b) General Assembly

Four appointments exercising the votes as shown.

<u>Member</u>	No. votes exercised
Authority Chair	1 Service and 1
	Corporate
(2018-19 appointment – Ann Bown)	1 Service
(2018-19 appointment – Leigh Redman)	1 Service
(2018-19 appointment – George Wheeler)	1 Service

(**NOTE**:- The General Assembly usually meets annually with Authority attendance being dependent on inclusion of fire and rescue related items in the business to be discussed. Date of next meeting: Tuesday 2 July 2019, Bournemouth).

SOUTH WEST COUNCILS

The South West Councils brings together the 41 local authorities in the region to:

- Provide a voice for constituent local authorities on major issues affecting the South West;
- Influence Government policy as it affects the region;
- Encourage partnership working between local authorities and other organisations and agencies in the South West on policy issues where a broader regional approach is required;
- Promote the sharing of good practice.

One Member – Authority Chair

SOUTH WEST PROVINCIAL COUNCIL

The Provincial Council is the joint negotiating machinery for the South West. It comprises the employers' side (South West Employers) and the trade union side and provides a forum for discussion, debate and negotiation on human resource issues.

The Provincial Council meets twice yearly and the Employers' side has a Management Committee, which meets three times a year to continue business.

The functions of the Provincial Council are:

 To exchange ideas with the view of increasing the understanding of the two Sides:

- To promote good industrial relations practice and training, including the development of good personnel practice;
- To undertake tasks as required by the National Joint Council;
- To establish and give legitimacy to dispute and conciliation machinery;
- To facilitate, should the need arise, the negotiation of collective agreements;
- To issue advice, as appropriate, to Local Authorities and Unions;
- To provide a forum for discussion on key strategic issues affecting Local Government industrial relations/training/personnel.

One Member (Chair of the Human Resources Management and Development Committee).